Week One And We're Fucking Fucked

 


Well, it looks like Watson can't play in the NFL anymore.  That's going to be a problem.  When the entire offense runs through a guy that not only can't throw the ball downfield, but the opposing defense doesn't even pretend can accomplish that, it becomes a short yardage game with no chance of success.  Dallas didn't even pretend that Watson could throw the ball on routes past 10 yards.  They jammed everything short.  Watson had 169 yards passing in 45 attempts, which is the 6th worst result IN NFL HISTORY, even more incredible as he was essentially playing in garbage time for an entire half of football.  There isn't a way to put perspective on how fucking bad that guy is.  In my mind he's like Cody Kessler except you're paying him $225M more to suck ass.  

Look, the Browns defense was sort of OK.  You look at the stat lines and the Cowboys didn't exactly rip it up out there.  They were just fortunate to be playing against a different version of Bryce Young who gives his team no chance to succeed.  The Browns only allowed 265 yards, and held the Cowboys to 4-14 on third downs.  Dak had 163 yards passing, and they held the Cowboys to 102 on the ground.  You look at those stats and you think, "we must have killed those guys".  Nope.  The Browns have that complete piece of shit Watson playing QB who averaged 2.7 yards per pass and tossed two INTs.  He's Deshone Kizer but a sex offender.    

So what now?  Here's the bad news.  There is no way to candy coat this.  Deshaun Watson is unable to play NFL football effectively.  The word I keep hearing is "washed".  I don't think he is washed out so much as he was done the second they guaranteed that contract money of his.  I saw a video recently of Joe Thomas talking about Johnny Manziel shortly after Manziel "washed out" of the NFL.  Thomas noted Manziel didn't commit to the task of being an NFL QB as all the successful players in that role kept coach's hours and had a laser focus on success.  It doesn't take a sleuth to look into Watson to see that his focus is on conspicuous consumption and pussy.  Look, that might seem crude, but that's the way it is with that guy.  That's what motivates him.  Some guys like Tua, Allen and Hurts are doing whatever they need to do to win while Watson is online shopping for new diamond pajama pants.  He gives zero fucks.

The downside for Browns fans is that we have to wait this thing out.  Ownership and the front office will have to put on the brave face, because let's be honest, who in that room wants to walk out to a podium and say, "Look, we really fucked up when we gave this guy all that money.  We recognize the same thing that you do, but since we paid him, we're going to keep running him out there because we'd rather go 0-17 than pay that grifter not to play."  We are going to all live with this piece of shit behind center until he feigns an injury when his pride kicks in.  Watson is not a Top 32 quarterback and does not belong in the NFL.  He's done.  We are all just in on the ride until the organization digests that they made a QUARTER BILLION DOLLAR ERROR and we enjoy a two year tank job to get a reasonably adept player behind center.

The worst part of this fiasco is that this team is pretty good.  The line is in shambles at the moment, but when the starting tackles return, there is reason for optimism.  Ford, aka Jukey Jukerson, is not a starting NFL running back, but if anyone can come back from a horrific injury it's Chubb.  The Browns biggest problem, besides needing Watson to be sent home, is that their "easy" games are early in the season.  While the tackles heal, Chubb gets ready and Watson flounders, potential wins are going to slip away.  The hard choice is that they need to cut bait on Watson today, and see if they can get it together as they go through the soft part of the early schedule with Winston or DTR.  They have no (zero) chance of winning games with Watson.  Yet, that's what we're going to get. 

This Watson situation is perhaps the most difficult thing a team can face.  It's not just the huge challenge of the reversal on the preseason plans but the public loss of face of admitting what is perhaps the biggest misjudgement on player personnel in NFL history.  If someone with no skin in the game that had no clouded judgement from game film from a half decade ago was presented this situation, the choice would be simple.  Cut bait on Watson.  Start the QB that you think gives you the best chance of success.  Move ahead.  You fucked up.  Staying in the bad choice longer won't make it work.  He's not "rusty".  He sucks.  You have to get rid of that guy or the rest of the team will quit on you.  It was a high variance move and it didn't work out.  He's done.  It's evident to everyone.  Move on.    

Go Browns.

Comments

Popular Posts