Feeling Pretty Brownsy Around Here
The Browns are tanking. There is not a rational human being that thinks the team has a better chance to win with DTR than with Jameis Winston. Sure, we can all pretend the team is "evaluating" how good Thompson-Robinson is, but I think the organization had a pretty good inkling that is was somewhere between "sucks" and "the guy tries really hard". DTR has started four games. The offense has scored a total of 32 points in those games. If the team is starting a guy that is going to give them 8 points a game, they are planning on losing those games. Stefanski has already said they are starting him against Miami, but what he should have said was "We are doing whatever we can as an organization to lose next week, but still give the appearance of attempting to win."
If I was a player on the Browns, I would do whatever I could to get onto another NFL team. Remember that defensive lineman the Browns had that drove to the airport, bought a ticket at the counter and went through security with a gun in his backpack just so he could get cut? Shaun Rogers I believe. Went to the Saints and went 13-3 the next year. That's a reasonable response to the Browns continuing to create an unreasonable situation for these players. If you work your entire life to get to the NFL, with the average NFL career being 2.5 years, and you end up HERE? Jesus. You've got to get out any way possible.
I implore anyone that has season tickets to demand a refund to the upcoming game Sunday vs Miami. The team they are putting on the field is unwatchable despite having other options sitting on the bench that give them a chance to win. They are also clearly calling plays that offer limited chance of success. What does the Browns coaching staff put up on the video screens on their meeting Wednesday morning? "Game plan to lose but with limited embarrassment"? To have the Browns charge people money to sit in the rain next week to watch them tank versus the Dolphins is criminal. Then again, this is an organization that paid for their team by cheating businesses on gas contracts and selling vape cartridges in truck stops, so it's part of the grifting culture I suppose.
The organization is tanking presumably to improve their draft position. I suppose that this would offer long term benefit to the team except for the undeniable fact that the team will fuck up their #1 draft pick anyway. I have never seen an organization that intentionally loses turn around and become champions. I have seen teams with limited resources that played hard but poorly that eventually won, but never a team that embraced being noncompetitive. The Browns organization has been, is, and will be for the forseeable future a bunch of losers.
Myles Garrett should demand a trade in the offseason. If I were him, I would try to distance myself from the stench of this organization before the culture permeates into his skin. There is no way that this group is capable of turning this around. In a league that is focused on creating a merry-go-round of success for each franchise, this organization alone has shown itself to be incapable of building a winner. It's a top down problem too, so firing the coach/GM won't make a difference. Who in their right mind would willingly work for this team? You'd have to be out of other options and just want to stay in the league.
Thank God there are only two more games left in this debacle of a season. I feel badly for the players that are being forced to go out there, lay their bodies on the line, and have absolutely nothing to play for except for the hope of getting out of Cleveland. From the start of the season stubbornly starting an inept Watson to benching Winston to now tanking with DTR, this has been classic Browns. Compounding bad decision after bad decision is what the Browns do. Now dig into your wallets. They want you to pay for a new stadium to watch this shit in.
Go Browns.



Comments
Post a Comment