The Kevin Stefanski Problem

 


There's this long enduring narrative that Kevin Stefanski is a "great coach".  Why?  Because he went to an Ivy League school like that other genius Paul Depodesta?  Let's look at both sides of the coin.  The Browns had perhaps their best year in a quarter century during his first season winning a playoff game in that weird 2020 covid year.  Is it just me, or is that looking more and more like Baker Mayfield was the real deal and carried Kevin Stefanski to a winning season as opposed to the other way around?  Mayfield gets hurt the next year and the wheels come off.  Stefanski completely mismanaged that situation, though to be fair there were other cooks in the (Freddy) kitchen.  They deal for Watson and have been a disaster since.  I'm not sure how you explain that flukey Joe Flacco Comet year when they made and then got smoked in the Playoffs, but Stefanski is 41-48 all time as a Browns coach now.  As a point of comparison, fellow "young genius" coaches like Sean McVay are 83-54 with a Super Bowl, Kyle Shanahan is 74-63 with two Super Bowl appearances, and the guy that beat him today Kevin O'Connell from the Vikings is 37-19.  So if this Stefanski guy is so fucking smart, how come he looks so dumb in the 4th quarter losing games all the time?

Stefanski found himself with a slim lead going into the fourth quarter and then did what he always does, played not to lose.  The success of teams like Detroit, Philadelphia, Kansas City, etc which are based on "playing to win" shows the ineffective Stefanski model in plain sight.  Look at the fourth quarter...  I can't even talk about that clock management situation which was so baffling I just kept saying "what the fuck are they doing?" over and over again.  The Browns, before bungling the clock management at the end of the game, had four possessions.  3 plays and 9 yards.  3 plays and 4 yards.  5 plays and 17 yards.  3 plays and -1 yards.  A total of 29 yards of offense trying to kill an entire 25% of the game to win by 3 points appeared to be The Stefanski Vision.  Even a cursory look around the league during the end of games on Red Zone shows how fucking stupid this approach is.  How many times do you see late rallies with teams finding great success on limp dick teams like the Browns who are vainly trying to kill the clock because they can't believe they have a lead? 

Look, this one was one of the few winnable games on the schedule. They faced a Minnesota team with three missing linemen and a 3rd string center calling the coverages.  Carson Wentz was starting.  How do you lose this game?  Stefanski got outcoached.  They had initial success with Judkins running the ball in the first quarter, incredibly refused to put him in for most of the second quarter, and never countered to Minnesota's half time defensive adjustments.  The Browns got beaten by an injured Carson Wentz and a backup offensive line.  That's a bad loss.  The Browns aren't the worst team in the league, but who is favored in a Browns v Saints or Browns v Giants game?  Who you taking in the Browns v Miami game in two weeks?  That is probably Browns favored by 2.5 unless Tua gets beheaded next week.  I'm not exactly sprinting to the window with Browns money if you know what I mean.

Dillon was... whatever.  This guy isn't the answer and we all know that. He's a guy that can't push the ball downfield and can make checkdowns.  The entire league will now know to defend him like they did Watson, take away all the underneath stuff and dare him to throw downfield, and he won't be able to do shit about that.  More alarmingly, Kevin Stefanski has already showed you that unless he has "his" type of QB to run "his" offense, he's fucking fucked.  I'm so sick of his bland corporate doubletalk jargon speak.  All that fucking smug "I'll answer the journalist question because I have to, but you guys don't get it" as if he's some sort of golden idol.  That guy hasn't done dick.  He wasn't even on the sideline on the Playoff game the Browns won, returning just in time to tank the next game which they should have won.  Stefanski can pound that "we need to clean that stuff up" shit up his ass because we all have seen that none of it ever gets "cleaned up" and he can't run an NFL offense in 2025.  Here's the Kevin Stefanski offense from here on out.  Judkins up the middle.  Judkins sweep.  Passing play to the tight end two yards short of the stick.  Punt.  

If you took that same game scenario today and flipped the coaches at the end of the third quarter, who wins that game?  Kevin O'Connell does.  You put that Viking staff on either side and they'll beat Stefanski.  And it's not like we are comparing O'Connell to Vince Fucking Lombardi.  The theory here is Stefanski isn't good enough to win a game head to head where the teams are comparable.  He can lose with his, or take yours and lose with them.  Here are the facts, plain and simple.  Stefanski has a 42% winning record against the spread which, like it or not, is a fairly good representation of his outcome versus expectation.  That is the second worst record in the NFL, beating only that piece of shit Brian Callahan from the Titans.  I'm just saying what has probably been gnawing in the back of your own head.  Kevin Stefanski sucks.  He is 35% ATS on the road.  He doesn't just lose, he loses way worse than you'd expect him to.  Word to the wise, bet against the Browns on the road all year and buy yourself a mink car in December.  The team sucks because Stefanski sucks.  No one in that building knows what they are doing.  Thank God that game was early so I could do something productive later.  Tell Haslam to shove those $200 gameday tickets for his strip plaza Grifter Palace up his penis hole sideways.  I'm gonna take my money and invest it in betting against his shit organization.  That's a winner.  

Go Browns.  

Comments

Popular Posts