Welcome Back Browns Fans
Just when things started looking up, it gets predictably Brownsy. Allow me to pass along a story
a friend told me. His son has just
embraced the Browns in a meaningful way.
The team had been horrible his entire childhood, but for whatever reason,
this season he became emotionally attached.
He went to a game with his buddies this year. Tailgated at the Muni Lot and saw a win. He even saw a fight in the stands when a dude
standing next to a guy in a “Deshaun Fucking Watson” t-shirt took a swing at
someone else for whatever drunken grievance existed. It was a full Browns experience. As far as I know he even took a piss on the
railroad tracks. He felt like he had
become a True Browns Fan. I would argue
that only TODAY did he become a true Browns fan as he watched all of his
postseason dreams go up in smoke as the suddenly fragile face of the franchise
has decided to shut it down for 2023.
Welcome my son. This is your life
now, the same as your father and his father before him. There is nothing but disappointment for you now
and for evermore. You are cursed as they are cursed. Now you understand... The
Browns.
As I have noted previously, I follow Deshaun Watson on social
media. It doesn’t make you root for the
guy at all as it is mostly solitary photos of him in terrible clothes and flashy
jewelry posted with out of context lyric snippets. Those photos are “look at how much money I
have and the worthless shit I spent it on”.
The only solace I have is that no matter how much it annoys me, the
entire Haslam family must utter a steady stream of profanities when they see
it. “Godammit, we didn’t rip off all
those trucking companies to just hand the money to that asshole to buy tacky
jumpsuits!”. Even typing that, it makes
me smile. This week the Watson posts had a
different flavor.
The amount of peacocking Watson did this week was
UNREAL. He played an undeniably great
second half. His full game stats were a
bit pedestrian with a 20-34 for 213 yards 1 TD and a Pick Six. Yet, his social media posts ERUPTED like he
was under MVP consideration, and they had all but secured the AFC North
crown. 18 hours ago he made a post with glamorous
game video titled “Breaking News They tried to Kill ‘em but the Boy Prevails”. How do you make that post and then the next
day announce, “Done For The Season”?
Look, I will give him the benefit of the doubt and assume that there was
some sort of debate about the condition of his shoulder, but is the move to
make these “I am so fucking great” posts after your one good game in two years
with it being 50/50 if you can keep playing?
This guy needs someone handling is PR that has a grasp of the temperature
in the room.
I always suspect something terrible was going to
happen. If you follow the team long
enough, you understand that the story always ends the same way. That’s the true genius of the Browns. The team managed to suck us all back in last
Sunday. “Holy shit! We might go to the Super Bowl! Get the lube and let’s go to Vegas!” I knew better. As all the Vegas Lube people were busy spray
painting their vehicles orange, may I remind you what I typed only two days
ago. “Watson gutted out a good second
half in Baltimore to win the game but took a massive beating, something that
will continue until he is unable to stay on the field… Remember
tradition and always think Brownsy everybody!”.
We all knew. Dammit, we
all knew in our heart of hearts that ultimately there was only one way this thing
could go. That was in The Shitter. Can the Browns still make the Playoffs? Sure. They
probably need four wins and they play Kenny Pickett, Russ Wilson, whoever the
Rams run out there, whoever the Bears run out there and apparently Zack
Wilson. With the Browns defense, they
should be able to squeeze out four more wins with PJ Walker. The Vegas line only moved 1.5 points against
Pittsburgh with the announcement of the Watson injury, so that gives you an
idea of what professionals think the gap is between Deshaun Watson and PJ
Walker. The real problem is can they run
a gauntlet of some mix of Mahomes, Burrow, Lamar, Tua, Stroud, and Lawrence in
the Playoffs with PJ Walker? No fucking
way.
Welcome back the earth Browns fans. They did it to you again.
Go Browns.
UPDATE: They're starting DTR? WTF? This is PURE BROWNS.



Comments
Post a Comment