Browns Draft Recap 2025
The Browns had an interesting draft. It was essentially a draft in two parts. In the early rounds the team appeared poised to recognize the widely held belief that perhaps only one (maybe) franchise QB was available and they would stock up from the inside out. It was very Brownsy to trade down from #2 to avoid adding Travis Hunter or Abdul Carter, so that felt familiar. The addition of picks did make sense when the team needs so much. Let's be honest though... Travis Hunter and Abdul Carter will likely be impact players in the NFL for the next decade whereas the guy they drafted from Michigan as a run clogger (Mason Graham) will be one of these guys where Browns fans will attempt to defend by saying "Well, he's been a starter for four years". We all know this dude isn't the reincarnation of Warren Sapp. He's the new Danny Shelton or maybe Gerard Warren if they get lucky.
The interesting thing about the Browns is if they would have drafted Hunter, he would have been in an iron lung by week 6, his football career over after a tragic injury that most people couldn't watch replays of because of the tears clouding their vision. While I wouldn't want to go to Jacksonville if I were Hunter most things considered, landing in Florida is much, much better than to be sentenced to the career death and crushed dreams of a Cleveland Browns NFL career. What's the point of comparison in Cleveland? "You'll be one of the greats here kid! The new Dennis Northcutt!". Travis seems like a nice young man, and I'm glad his life didn't end as a Brown. Good luck kid.
So there they were, accumulating picks and sticking with The Plan. While they didn't come out and tell anyone, The Plan was clearly "we are going to sorta tank in 2025 and maybe win 4-5 games so we can draft a real honest to God franchise QB in 2026. I swear to God we won't fuck this up again! I swear!". Defensive tackle round 1, LB round 2, RB next and then a tight end. OK, this looks OK. Love to see some O line but maybe we can add them next. That's when Jimmah got involved.
This piece of shit ownership group cannot help themselves but get their hands into the football operations. I don't know when they will stand up and say, "Look, we have proven to all of you that we don't have any idea of how to run a football team." but it sure isn't yet. Browns "journalist" (wink wink) Mary Kay Cabot, a woman dedicated to staying inside the VIP rope if I've ever met one, reported the following. "The day before they headed to Colorado for the NFL showcase of Sanders and Hunter, they flew Air Haslam out to Eugene, Oregon, for a private workout and dinner with Gabriel, owner Jimmy Haslam included. The private sessions never leaked out." First of all, can you be more ingratiating Mary Kay to call the Haslam's plane "Air Haslam", but shouldn't you have reported that? Shhh... Don't want to say things not provided officially by Dee Haslam, I get it. Mary Kay is, without question, the absolute biggest bootlicker in the NFL. If you need someone to provide the twisted logic to explain the continued failure of the Browns to the public, Mary Kay is MORE THAN READY to eat that shit sandwich. She's probably still defending that Manziel pick. But let's talk about what's going on now. Quick aside, has there ever been a reason for an owner to go fly out to meet with a third round draft pick? Remember in 2021 when Jimmah flew out to go meet with Anthony Schwartz? How about in 2021 when he met with Jordan Elliot? Yeah, I don't remember that either. Drafting a QB! Better call Jimmy! He's The Expert!
OK, so now you've blown a third round pick on an undersized QB that everyone else passed on for the last three rounds, but at least the front office guys let Jimmah think he picked his man. Good job hayseed. You fucked that up again, but at least it wasn't too damaging this time. Let's be honest about a third round QB. He's probably not going to be very good. Let me run some names past you that are recent third round picks... Desmond Ridder, Mailk Willis, Matt Corral, Kellen Mond, Davis Mills, Mason Rudolph, CJ Beathard, and Cody Kessler. Sure, 11 years ago the Seahawks drafted Russell Wilson, but the next year Mike Glennon went third round. If you had to guess on the Browns talent evaluation skills, are you thinking they found Russell Wilson or Cody Kessler? I know which way I lean.
Even then, maybe it' still going to be OK. You're like "OK, so we suck next year but we get out of the doomed Deshaun Watson spiral. Maybe Flacco makes it fun (he won't) and we get our guy next year (they won't)." Instead, they bring in widely acknowledged clubhouse cancer and future media circus Shedeur Sanders and upping the ante even further to sign Diontae Johnson, a man with his 5th team in a year because he's impossible to deal with in a team setting. Fucking A. Could this possibly been what they told Myles when they held his career hostage this winter? "Hey look Myles, here's our plan... What we are thinking is trading out of the #2 pick where we could bring in a perennial All-Pro to bring in a new version of Danny Shelton. We add some picks and take two (2) running backs and then, hold onto your hat, two (2) shitty QBs to make sure we have an uncomfortable QB room filled with guys nobody wants. The way we see it is we can still lose 13 games next year but this way trick ourselves into thinking we are developing a QB from one of the three younger guys the league knows can't play the position. Are you interested in remaining here now my friend? I thought so! Sign here!"
There is no way in hell that the Haslams didn't decide to draft Sanders. No way. The Browns passed on that guy six (6) times, even selecting an undersized QB too early. The Haslams could not stop themselves from intervening and forcing the pick. If you see the footage of Berry and Stefanski during the pick announcement, it looks like that Vietnam War footage of those captured pilots forced to be on camera pretending they are happy after months of torture from the VC. They must have been praying ANYBODY took Sanders before he rolled around to their draft slot again. What a disaster for Berry and Stefanski. Now those guys get Coach Prime going on ESPN screaming about why his shitty son isn't playing more than shitty Kenny Pickett (who will probably get cut BTW). Berry and Stefanski tried to cover their tracks by pretending that their live reaction was somehow taken out of context, but we all know what we saw. You guys know you just lost your NFL jobs and it's your dipshit owner who fucked it up AGAIN and you'll have to take the heat. It sucks boys but that's life with Jimmah.
It is is complete nightmare in Berea for a team that came THIS CLOSE to escaping the last Haslam Debacle with Watson but now has a brand new Haslam Debacle to strap in on. Johnny Manziel to bungling Baker to Deshaun to This. The Browns are The Worst Sports Franchise in America. I know that you know this, but you are stuck with The Haslams. The team is doomed. You will never see them win in your lifetime. The Browns will NEVER get better because these stupid hillbillies don't know what they are doing. Another disaster await Browns fans in 2025. Vegas has set the team with the lowest win total in the NFL. It's going to be a long season filled with pointless drama from shitty players that won't win shit. Oh, and the Haslams want your money to fuck up 480 and to build a new stadium we don't need. It gets better and better.
Go Browns.


Comments
Post a Comment